carrot cake

Carrot Cake

Last night I made this carrot cake for a charity bake sale at my dad’s office. My dad can actually make pretty good cakes himself, but they never look very appetising. When he asked me to make one, the conversation went something like this:

Dad: Why don’t you make that ginger cake you made last week? That was lovely.
Me: It looked boring though. For a bake sale it has to look pretty or people won’t buy it.
Dad: That’s not true, people liked the fruit cake I made last year.
Mum: Yeah, it tasted nice, but you brought half of it home again because it didn’t sell.
Me: You see? For a bake sale, how it looks is more important than how it tastes.

Poor Dad. He just doesn’t get it.

Anyway, I made this carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and marzipan carrots. I have no idea what it tastes like, but I’m pleased with how it looks!

The recipe was from the Dorling Kindersley Children’s Quick and Easy Cookbook, which I’ve had since the 1990s. However, I wouldn’t describe this recipe as either quick or easy.

Things I learned:

Grating your thumbs is not a good idea, particularly when the next step is to squeeze an orange.
Check you’ve got all the ingredients first (I made a Sunday night dash to the shops mid-recipe).
Don’t stop for a tea break before washing green food dye off your hands. It won’t come off.

Let’s hope it sells!

2 thoughts on “carrot cake

  1. Pat(ricia)

    Looks brilliant! Gee, were you a chef in some other life? I could never ice/decorate a cake so well! Congrats and well done. Hope it sold right quick. And I bet it was delicious …. I love carrot cake. Hmmm …. maybe should bake one …. as she wanders off to consider bacon carrot cake?! 😉

    Reply
  2. pépère the cat Post author

    Not sure about bacon carrot cake! Bacon and maple syrup cake maybe? It works on pancakes…

    I can’t pretend to be a baking expert – some of my attempts go horribly wrong! I find that cream cheese frosting goes on best when you put a thin layer all over, then put it in the fridge to harden up, and then do a thicker layer. And marzipan carrots are not difficult to make. You just colour the marzipan orange, make 12 equal sized balls and then roll them at one end to make a cone shape. That’s what I love about this recipe. You don’t have to be a baking genius to make it look good (which is probably why it’s in a children’s cookbook…)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

