unexpected art

This week I’m staying with my friend Tamara in the west country.

It’s kind of a holiday and kind of not a holiday. I met Tamara when I was living in France, where she still lives with her French husband and her two children. It’s half-term in France this week, so she’s brought the children back to England to spend some time with their grandfather, but as her husband has to stay in France and work, she asked me to come along and help with the baby. So we’re staying in this beautiful farm house in the countryside and doing lots of lovely things, but it is pretty exhausting at the same time!

Today was the first dry day we’ve had since we arrived, so we made the most of it and went shopping in Bath for the day. Towards the end of the afternoon, I was waiting outside a shop with the baby when I saw the most unusual art exhibition. In the window of a vacant shop, someone has displayed the winning entries from the “Recycle an Ex-Library Book Competition”.

OK, so the name isn’t very catchy. But these creations are beautiful and amazing.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

3 thoughts on “unexpected art

  1. Pat(ricia)

    These are awesome – thank you for sharing your discovery here – absolutely fascinating!
    I love what I’m seeing, and I love the idea of this concept – but there is a part of me that shudders at destroying a printed book. Still, something new from old and the endless possibilities are fascinating. With your permission, I’m going to reblog this at my space. If there is a problem with this, please let me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

