born to run

I haven’t posted much in the last week or so, mostly because I haven’t been doing very much!

Tomorrow I’m off to France to spend some time with Olivier, and then next Monday I start my new job, so these have been my last few days at home, finishing off all the odd jobs and admin I need to do before I get too busy.

One thing I have done recently is join the gym, so I’ve been working out a lot for the past couple of weeks. I have a bit of an all-or-nothing approach to exercise. I’m either a fitness freak or a couch potato – those are really my only two settings. Worse still, since I left my last job, I haven’t even been doing my usual two mile walk to and from work, and I’ve been sleeping in a lot. It’s been nice to have some time off to relax, but I seriously can’t wait to start working and get into a routine!

I thought I would share with you one amazing thing I have discovered this week. I quite like running (when I get into it) and if I do it regularly I really notice the difference in my health and fitness. The only problem is, I get blisters. I’ve been to running shops and had my gait analysed, I’ve bought expensive running shoes, and I’ve tried various different brands of running socks, but the result has always been the same. Any time I try to run for more than about 40 minutes, I get huge blisters on my insteps which prevent me from running again until the skin has healed. (And then when I run again I get new blisters.)

A few days ago I was reading some fitness forums looking for advice on blister prevention and a few people mentioned putting duct tape on their feet before running. I’ve been putting standard medical plasters on my feet before running for ages, and they work quite well, but they don’t hold off the blisters forever. So I decided to give it a go.

The first time I tried duct tape on my feet I could feel instinctively that it would work. It gripped my skin so tightly that there was no way a blister was going to form under that!

So now I have been running 5 or 6 miles every day, with my feet covered in tape. Who knew?

And the really great thing is that my fitness is already improving massively. I had no idea I could run so far, because until now I’ve always had to stop when I could feel the blisters getting bad.

I’ve always wanted to do a half marathon, but couldn’t imagine running for more than an hour. Now I feel like I can do anything!

I have a feeling 2014 could be the year I finally run a half marathon… watch this space!

3 thoughts on “born to run

  1. David Navarre

    Duct tape is truly amazing. When we hiked for two weeks in New Mexico, we carried a roll and used it to avoid developing the hot spots that become blisters. Congratulations on covering so much distance in your runs.

    Reply
  2. Pat(ricia)

    Wow! The “Handy Man’s Tool” is more than just versatile! Who would have thought?

    Glad to hear that this working for you as a solution to the blistering problem. Hope it keeps helping and you enjoy your running times! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

