off the wagon

I’ve fallen off the wagon with a resounding thump. Sod Dry January. Needs must.

On Monday I had a meeting with my line manager to discuss my workload. It went something like this:

Me: (looking at to-do list) I need to do this, this, this, this, this…oh, and this, this, this…
Him: So you’ve got quite a lot on at the moment then?
Me: Errr…yes.
Him: OK, well I’ve already told the team not to give you any more work at the moment, so you can just focus on what you’ve already got. Except this urgent job which we need you to do within the next couple of days. Do you think you can manage it?
Me: Well, if everything goes according to plan over the next few days and I get everything done that I want to do by Wednesday, then it should be fine.

Everything was going pretty well until the afternoon, when I got a call saying my dad had broken his leg and my mum needed me to come and help.

Since then I’ve been working from home and trying to juggle work with helping my mum and visiting my dad in hospital.

I’m due back in the office tomorrow morning for a meeting I haven’t prepared for, and so tonight I am sitting at the kitchen table with my laptop and a bottle of wine.

I managed 28 alcohol-free days. I think that’s quite enough now.

Leave a Reply

