60 years

Yesterday was my grandparents’ 60th wedding anniversary. This is considered to be such a rare and special occasion that you can even get a telegram from the Queen (which they did).

Since my Grandpa is still in hospital, we took the party there. I managed to sneak out of work a little early and met my uncle at his office near Oxford Circus, stopping at M&S for cake and a bottle of champagne on the way. We then got into his car and he drove me and three of my cousins out of London and into Essex.

When we arrived at the hospital, my mum, brother and gran were already there and had decorated the day room with bunting. Another two of my cousins then arrived from the station.

We cut the cake, opened the champagne and toasted my grandparents for their 60 years of marriage, and the whole family for pulling together in the last few weeks, which have been challenging, to say the least. On the way back, we calculated that whilst my Grandpa has been in hospital, he has been visited by his wife, three children, seven grandchildren, two sisters and three nieces. Not bad for a 91 year old man.

We are all hoping he will be out soon and on the road to recovery.

Congratulations to Gran and Grandpa, and huge thanks to all the family. (And Her Majesty the Queen!)

One thought on “60 years

Leave a Reply

